The N.C. Medication Aide Registry operates under state nursing home rules and statutes (N.C. § 131E-114.2(b) ; N.C. § 131E-270 ; and 10A NCAC 13O .0202 ). To work as a medication aide in a nursing home, a person must be listed on this registry. Nursing home medication aides must also be listed on the Nurse Aide I Registry and have no substantiated findings listed on the Health Care Personnel Registry. Note: Listing on the N.C. Medication Aide Registry does not qualify a person to administer drugs in an adult care home.
A person must pass a 24-hour N.C. Board of Nursing-approved medication aide training program and pass the State medication aide exam to be listed on the N.C. Medication Aide Registry.
North Carolina does not list medication aides by reciprocity, endorsement, or transfer from other states. To be listed on the N.C. Medication Aide Registry, an out-of-state medication aide must pass a 24-hour N.C. Board of Nursing-approved medication aide training program and pass the state medication aide exam.
The N.C. Board of Nursing-approved medication aide training program for nursing homes is a 24-hour course. For course information, contact your local community college , Area Health Education Center (AHEC) , your employer, or the N.C. Board of Nursing . The N.C. Board of Nursing web site contains a list of instructors who are certified to teach the medication aide course.
State medication aide competency exams are available to people who pass an N.C. Board of Nursing–approved medication aide training program. Pearson VUE provides the exam. Exam scheduling procedures are listed in the North Carolina Medication Aide Program Candidate Handbook . The exam application and additional information is on the Pearson VUE web site. You may also call these numbers:
Medication aides must report name and address changes to the registry. Failure to report changes may delay or prevent delivery of your renewal notice. You may report your changes in these ways:
Note: If you are listed on the N.C. Nurse Aide I Registry or Geriatric Aide Registry, your changes will also appear there.
You are asked to voluntarily provide your SSN. This number is for record keeping and registry identification purposes only. Your SSN will remain confidential and will not be disclosed to the public.
All documents submitted to the registry may be verified with the issuing source before a change occurs.
Medication aides may renew through qualified work experience (8 hours) completed during every two years. To be "qualified", their work must be ALL of the following:
The registry mails a renewal form to medication aides about three months before their listings expire. Both the aide and the supervisor must complete the form to report the work experience. Upon receipt of qualified work verification, the registry will renew the medication aide’s listing. The renewal is for 24 months from the qualified work date (month) reported. Expiration dates are at the end of the month.
Renewal is the aide's responsibility. Aides should report name and address changes promptly. Contact the registry if you do not receive your renewal application on time. You can download a Request for a Replacement Renewal Form (PDF, 36 KB) to be sent to you by mail. Tips and instructions for completing the renewal form are also available.
A new training program and a new competency exam is required if a medication aide does not perform at least 8 hours of qualified work during any 24-month period.
Before allowing a medication aide to work, a nursing home must do the following:
A substantiated finding on the Health Care Personnel Registry disqualifies the medication aide from employment in a nursing home.
Employers can access the registries online, or by calling the 24-hour Voice Response System at 919-715-0562, or by calling registry staff at 919-855-3969 (weekdays, 8 a.m. - 12 noon, and 1 p.m. - 3 p.m., EST).
Listing on the N.C. Medication Aide Registry does not qualify a person to work as a medication aide in an adult care home. Anyone who wishes to administer drugs to a resident in any North Carolina adult care home must complete testing administered by the N.C. Division of Health Service Regulation, Adult Care Licensure Section. For information about working as a medication aide in an adult care home, contact the Adult Care Licensure Section at (919) 855-3793, or visit the NC Adult Care Medication Aide Testing website.
Denotes link to site outside of N.C. DHHS