N.C. Medication Aide Registry for Adult Care Homes
Medication testing is required for anyone administering drugs to residents in any adult care home, assisted living facility or family care home in North Carolina who is not authorized by occupational laws to administer medications.
The N.C. Medication Aides for Adult Care Homes operates under the state adult care home rules and statutes 10A NCAC 13F .0403, 10A NCAC 13F .0503, 10A NCAC 13F .0505, 10A NCAC 13G .0403, 10A NCAC 13G .0503, 10A NCAC 13G .0505.
Note: Listing on this registry does not qualify a person to administer drugs in a nursing home.
Website: N.C. Adult Care Medication Testing
How to Become an N.C. Medication Aide
Medication testing is required for anyone administering drugs to residents in any adult care home in North Carolina who is not authorized by occupational laws to administer medications.
Listing for Out-of-State Medication Aides
North Carolina does not list medication aides by reciprocity, endorsement, or transfer from other states. To be listed on the N.C. Medication Aide Registry for Adult Care Homes, an out-of-state medication aide must pass the N.C state medication aide written exam, approved medication aide training program, and complete the clinical skills requirement.
Obtaining Resource Material
Review the Medication Study Guide, Medication Test Study Tips and Guidelines for the Medication Administration Clinical Skills Checklist for the exam
Registering for the Medication Aide Written Exam
Obtaining a Registration Form
Medication Aide Exam Schedule and Testing Locations
Medication Exam Schedule (PDF, 39 KB)
Testing Policies and Procedures
Review the information and testing policies for medication testing.
The Medication Aide Written Exam for medication aides in adult care homes does not expire. This is not a license and does not have to be renewed.
Before allowing a medication aide to work, an adult care home facility must do the following:
- Verify that the person is listed on the N.C. Medication Aide Registry for Adult Care Homes.
- Keep a record of accessing the listing on the above registry.
- Validate clinical skills, conducted by a registered nurse, for the medication tasks to be performed in the facility.
- Keep a record of the Facility Medication Aide Verification (Note: Individuals who have verification of employment as a medication aide within the previous 24 months and completed competency skills validation and passed the state written exam for medication aides in adult care homes, may perform medication tasks without attending the 5- or 10-hour training program.)
Cancellations and Re-scheduling
- If you are unable to attend your scheduled exam, you must notify the Testing Unit at least two business days before the examination date (by phone or via email at: AdultCare.firstname.lastname@example.org).
- Saturday and Sunday and national holidays are not considered business days. If you provide at least two business days advance notice, you may reschedule one time and your fee will be transferred to your new examination date.
- If you need to reschedule less than two business days before the exam date, you must apply for an excused absence. (Reference: Absence Policy).
- If you do not call at least two business days before your examination date for rescheduling and do not show up for your scheduled time, you are considered a "No Show" and must re-submit a registration form and testing fee to reschedule.
- You may not transfer your examination date or fee to another person.
Absence Policy (Weather Emergencies, Check-in, Identification)
- Since unexpected situations occasionally occur, the agency will consider excusing an absence from the scheduled examination in certain situations. Acceptable reasons for rescheduling are as follows – but is not all inclusive:
- Court appearance or jury duty
- Disabling traffic accident
- Death in the family
- Military duty
- Illness (yourself or a member of your immediate family)
- Weather emergencies (see Inclement Weather)
- Requests for excused absences must be made in writing and received within 10 business days following the scheduled examination. This request must include documentation of your absence from an appropriate source. (For example: if you had jury duty, submit a copy of the court notice).
- After review of the documentation the decision by the agency will be final regarding whether an absence is excused and whether you must reregister and repay the examination fee if you are to reschedule.
Weather Emergencies / Inclement Weather Conditions
- Testing will be canceled if weather conditions are considered hazardous for local travel or for commuting.
- Information on cancellations may be obtained by:
- Calling the Testing Unit in Raleigh at 919-855-3793
- Website announcements
- Checking the local TV stations (this will especially apply if testing locations are held at a community college campus)
Check-in / Lateness, Guests / Visitors, Eating, Misconduct / Other
- You will be required to present proper identification (see: What to Bring with You).
- In order to allow time for check-in, you are to arrive 30 minutes before the examination starts.
- If you are late for any of the written examinations you will NOT be allowed to test and your fee(s) will not be refunded. You will have to re-register and pay another registration fee.
- No guests, visitors, pets, children or residents are allowed at the testing site and if present you will not be allowed to test. You are not permitted to eat, drink or smoke during the examination.
- Every effort is made to keep disturbances at the testing sites to a minimum. If an individual is involved with causing a disturbance of any kind or engaging in any misconduct, the individual will be asked to leave the premises.
- Cell phones, beepers, computers/laptops or any other electronic devices are not permitted to be used and must be turned off during testing. Space is limited and there is no place for storage of personal belongings at the testing sites.
What to Bring with You
- One form of proper identification (ID) which may include the following:
- Current non-expired driver's license;
- State issued ID card
- U.S. government issued military ID
- Passport (current and non-expired)
- If you do not bring proper photo ID, you will not be allowed to test and your examination fee will not be refunded. NO copies and faxes of ID are accepted
- The name on your ID must be the same as the name you used to register for the exam
- If your name has changed you must contact the Testing Unit and be prepared to provide official government documentation of the name change
- If your driver's license has been lost, stolen, expired then you must bring a picture ID along with the statement issued by the NCDMV that your driver's license / ID will be issued by mail
- You must have the following items with you to take the exams:
- Required proper identification
- Two no. 2 pencils, extra eraser
Denotes link to site outside of N.C. DHHS